Pages Navigation Menu

HS Students Compete at FCCLA State

HS Students Compete at FCCLA State

Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin – Black River Falls FCCLA sent 24 students to participate in the annual State Leadership Conference for the Wisconsin Association of Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA). The association’s high school state officers presided over the conference held at the Kalahari Resort in Wisconsin Dells, April 12-15, 2015. This event is the only opportunity in Wisconsin where students studying Family and Consumer Science can come together and prepare for their futures.

Many of these future leaders had the opportunity to compete to earn the honor of representing Wisconsin FCCLA at the National Leadership Conference that will be held in Washington, DC July 5-9 th.

At the conference, the following students presented their projects to the judges and were recognized on stage during the STAR Events Ceremony held on Wednesday morning.

  • Chapter Service Project Display Occupational: Sabrina Gunning, Kristen Johnson
  • Entrepreneurship Occupational: Devin Newby
  • Interior Design Occupational: Jennifer Malchow
  • Job Interview Senior: Jordan Rondorf
  • Job Interview Occupational: Eli Parker
  • Life Event Planning Occupational: Grace Simonson
  • Parliamentary Procedure Senior: Haley Beams, Hailey Collins, Ashley Derus, Alisanne Dunneisen, Megan Engebretson, Lauren Helstad, Kristine Johnson, Kacey Koenigs
  • Parliamentary Procedure Occupational: Mitchel Gjerseth, Nicholas Hagenbrock, Matt LaFaunge, Jacky Lin, Ryan Millis, John Roou, Ally Waughtal
  • Recycle and Redesign Junior: Bailee Ciezki

Black River Falls High School FCCLA had a very successful showing at the State Conference with 18 of our chapter members earning top gold’s in their category.

The following groups were awarded the highest scores in their category and selected to represent Black River Falls High School and WI FCCLA at the National Conference in Washington, DC this July.

  • Sabrina Gunning and Kristen Johnson-Chapter Service Display
  • Devin Newby-Entreprenuership
  • Jennifer Malchow-Interior Design
  • Eli Parker-Job Interview
  • Grace Simonson-Life Event Planning
  • Mitchel Gjerseth, Nicholas Hagenbrock, Matt LaFaunge, Jacky Lin, Ryan Millis, John Roou, Ally Waughtal: Parliamentary Procedure Occupational

The Black River Falls Chapter also would like to thank chaperones Connie Helstad, Tess Johnson and Andrea Hoffman for this trip.