September 19

September 19, 2005

Meeting # 3


Board Members Present: Paul Bohac, Lois Corey, Don Mathews, Jeff Pugh, Barb Sedelbauer, Bill Waughtal

Board Members Absent: Ramie Bakken

The meeting was called to order by President Jeff Pugh at 6:00 p.m.

Notices of the meeting were delivered to the Banner Journal, WWIS Radio Station and Jackson County Chronicle and posted in three (3) public places on September 15, 2005.

Meeting commenced with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Barb Sedelbauer moved to approve the consent agenda items as presented. Don Mathews seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Discussion was held on the National FCCLA field trip requests. Tina Gilbertson and Sarah Halverson presented information about the trips. They feel the trips are a great learning experience for the students. Parents must attend meetings so they are aware of the parameters of the trip. The cost per student is approximately $1,000. Most of the funds are generated through fund raising. No district funds have been budgeted for these trips.

Lois Corey moved to allow the FCCLA to attend one (1) National trip. Motion dies for lack of a second.

Don Mathews moved to approve the two (2) National FCCLA field trip requests. Bill Waughtal seconded the motion. Motion carries with a 5-1 vote. Lois Corey cast the dissenting vote.

Dr. Richards introduced the new staff members:

They include:

Orvin Bystol – High School ED teacher

Kallie Krueger - Middle/High School Spanish teacher

Nate Schurman – High School Assistant Principal

Jeff Walker – Transportation Supervisor

Jennifer Rukavina – High School Spanish teacher and Randi Arneson – School Nurse were unable to attend the meeting.

Dr. Richards also reported that the strategic planning process was held with the staff and the public session will be held on Tuesday, September 27. The strategic planning session for the Board will be held on Tuesday, October 4. Homecoming is scheduled for September 30th.

Discussion was held on the elementary boundary changes parameters. The consensus of the board was to form an ad hoc committee consisting of at least nine (9) members, but no more than fifteen (15). Lois Corey and Barb Sedelbauer volunteered to serve on the committee. Jon Warmke and Shelly Severson, elementary principals, will also serve on the committee. Dennis Richards, superintendent, Jill Collins, director of business services, Sherri Torkelson, director of curriculum and instruction, and Jeff Walker, transportation supervisor, will also be involved with the committee. The board would like a recommendation from the committee by the December or January board meeting.

Sherri Torkelson, director of curriculum and instruction presented a report on Four Year Old Kindergarten Programming. The committee feels the program would be very beneficial to the children. Several options were presented including offering the program

with full implementation in the fall of 2006, phasing in the program over 2-3 years, or endorsing the concept and pursuing implementation at a future date, to be determined based on the district fiscal picture.

The consideration of the Four Year Old Kindergarten Programming will be placed on the October School Board agenda as an action item.

Board Self-Assessment – Board members were requested to complete their self-assessment form and return it to Jeff Pugh.

WASB Report – Jeff Pugh reported that the fall regional meeting will be held in Sparta on October 25. Board members interested in attending should contact Dennis Richards or Barb Prochaska so reservations can be made.

Policy Committee Report – Transportation related issues were discussed and will be discussed again next month. School Board Policy 130 – School Board Legal Status and Policy 131 – School District Elections were revised to reflect the action taken at the annual meeting. They were presented to the full board for the 1st reading and with a minor modification will be placed on the October agenda for final action.

Future agenda identification:

Ad hoc committee

4K recommendation

Math Department Program Review

Barb Sedelbauer moved to adjourn to closed session under Wis. Stats. 19.85 (1)(f) to review a previous expulsion order and to give preliminary consideration to a personnel matter at 7:18 p.m. Lois Corey seconded the motion.

Ayes: Paul Bohac, Lois Corey, Don Mathews, Jeff Pugh, Barb Sedelbauer, Bill Waughtal

Nays: None.

Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned to closed session.

Barb Sedelbauer, Clerk Barb Prochaska, Recording Secretary

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.